University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF)  

Posted by: Marian Calago

USPF – University of Southern Philippines is founded in 1927 in Cebu City, Philippines. Its main campus is situated in Lahug, Cebu City and its branch is in Mabini Campus.

The USP started when the founders set out a goal to establish a private, non-sectorian educational institution. These founders were: Agustin Jereza, Civil Engr.  from the State University of IOWA; Virgilio Gonzales, doctor of medicine from UP; Miguel Sanson, a practicing Attorney; Mrs. Natividad Villa-Albino, school teacher; Felipe Ouano, Fructuoso Ramos, and Hipolito Andrada, businessmen; Dr. Jose Mirasol, chemist and dean of Cebu Junior College.
It started when called by Southern Institute on May 14, 1927. Their first rented building was located in Colon St., Cebu City. The  students’ population increased and decided to move a two storey building in Mabini St.

In 1938, Southern Institute was changed to The Southern College.

During the world war two, the school became the residence of the U.S Army. After the war, the school was destroyed and reconstructed using the superfluous resources bought from the U.S Army.

The School was reopened in Lahug, Cebu City and offering higher degree courses.
They had made several expansions to the nearby streets in Manalili due to the increasing number of students.

In 1959, the founders / stockholders decided to dissolve the usual stock corporation and converted USP into non-stock, non-profit foundation.

University of Southern Philippines Foundation is one of the top universities in Cebu City, Philippines.

Courses Offered:

College of Computer Studies and I.T.
•    BS in Computer Engineering
•    BS in Computer Science
•    BS in Information Technolog
•    Associate in Computer Technology

College of Engineering and Architecture
•    BS in Architecture
•    BS in Civil Engineering
•    BS in Electronics and Communications Engineering
•    BS in Electrical Engineering
•    BS in Geodetic Engineering
•    BS in Mechanical Engineering

College of Education
•    Bachelor of Secondary Education:
Major in:
o    English
o    Computer Education
o    Physical Education
o    Physical Sciences
o    Biological Sciences
•    Bachelor of Elementary Education with area of concentration in English
o    In Special Education
•    Diploma in Professional Education
•    Diploma in Special Education

College of Nursing
o    BSN
College of Pharmacy
o    BS in Pharmacy

Major in:
  •  Clinical/Hospital Pharmacy
  • Manufacturing Pharmacy
  • Community/Retail Pharmacy
  • Associate in Health and Science Education leading to health aide

College of Business and Management
o    BS in Accountancy
o    BS in Commerce, major in Entrepreneurship  and major in Management
o    BS office administration
o    Diploma in Secretarial Science
College of Arts and Sciences
o    BA, major in
o    Communication
o    General Science
o    Literature
o    Library Science
o    English
o    Mathematics
o    Music
o    Political Science
o    Biology
o    Psychology
o    Social Work
o    Associate in Hotel and Restaurant Service Technology
o    Diploma in Community Development

Department of Continuing Education
Pre-School, Elementary, and High School

Other Universities:

Bookmark and Share

Express what's in your mind.

This entry was posted on 5:04 PM . You can leave a response and follow any responses to this entry through the Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) .


Post a Comment